MINUTES OF THE ORGANIZATIONAL COUNCIL MEETING OF THE VILLAGE OF VILNA IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, HELD ON WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 11, 2023 @ 5:30 P.M. IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS OF THE VILLAGE OF VILNA MUNICIPAL OFFICE AT 5135 – 50 STREET, VILNA

PRESENT:

Mayor Leroy Kunyk Deputy Mayor Tammy-Lynn Thompson Councillor Paul Miranda CAO Earla Wagar

1. CALL TO ORDER BY CAO: CAO Earla Wagar called the meeting to order at 6:20 p.m.

2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

(SEE POLICY 101)

RES. 155-23 Moved by Councillor Miranda that the Agenda be adopted as presented.

3. NOMINATION OF MAYOR

CARRIED

CAO Earla Wagar called for nominations for the position of Mayor

RES. 156-23 Deputy Mayor Thompson nominated Leroy Kunyk for the position of Mayor.

RES. 157-23 Councillor Miranda nominated Tammy-Lynn Thompson for the position of Mayor.

After calling for nominations two more times with no further nominations, a vote was called. CARRIED

Mayor Kunyk was elected to the position of Mayor and assumed the Chair.

4. OATH OF OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

5. NOMINATION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Mayor Kunyk called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

RES. 158-23 Mayor Kunyk nominated Tammy-Lynn Thompson for the position of Deputy Mayor.

After 2 further calls and with no further nominations, Councillor Thompson was re-elected as Deputy Mayor **CARRIED**

- 6. OATH OF OFFICE OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR
- 7. OATH OF OFFICE OF REMAINDER OF COUNCIL
- 8. MINUTES FROM 2022 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING
- 9. REVIEW BYLAWS AND POLICIES
 - A. ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING POLICY 101-21
 - B. PROCEDURES BYLAW #568-21
 - C. CODE OF CONDUCT BYLAW #551-20, POLICY 110-21
 - D. INTERIM FINANCING BYLAW #590-23 (3 READINGS)

RES. 159-23 Moved by Coucillor Miranda that 1st Reading be given to Interim Finance Bylaw #590-23. CARRIED

- **RES. 160-23** Moved by Deputy Mayor Thompson that 2nd reading be given to Intermin Finance Bylaw #590 23.
- **RES. 161-23** Moved by Mayor Kunyk that with the consent of all Councillor present, 3rd and final reading be given to Interim Finance Bylaw. CARRIED

E. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION POLICY #109-18

RES. 163-23Moved by Deputy Mayor Thompson that the Public ParticipationPolicy #109-18 be adopted as presented.CARRIED

F. RESPONSIBILTY TO ADMINISTRATION POLICY 103

RES. 162-23Moved by Coucillor Miranda that Policy #103, the Responsibility to Administration
Policy, be adopted as presented.**CARRIED**

G. REMUNERATION SCHEDULE POLICY 102

RES. 163-23

Moved by

Coucillor Miranda that Policy #102, the Remuneration Policy, be adopted as presented.

10. SIGNING AUTHORITY

- RES. 163-23 Moved by Mayor Kunyk that the Signing Authority for all Banking Matters be allocated to the Deputy Mayor, or in the absence of the Deputy Mayor, the Councillor and the Chief Administrative Officer. CARRIED
 - 11. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR Richard Jean, JMD Group
 - 12. APPOINTMENT OF ASSESSOR: Mike Krim, Tanmar Consulting
 - 13. ALLOCATION OF BANKING INSTITUTION: ATB Financial
 - 14. APPOINTMENT OF ENGINEER: Associated Engineers
 - 15. APPOINTMENT OF PLANNING SERVICES: Municipal Planning Services

16. APPOINTMENT OF SUBDIVISION AUTHORITY OFFICER

RES. 164-23 Moved by Deputy Mayor Thompson that the following Appointment be approved as presented: Auditor – Richard Jean from JMD Group Assessor – Mike Krim from Tanmar Consulting, contracted to Capital Regional

Assessor – Mike Krimfrom Tanmar Consulting, contracted to Capital Regiona Assessment Services Commission. Banking Institution - ATB Financial, St. Paul, Ab Engineering Services – Associated Engineering Services Planning Services – Municipal Planning Services

Subdivision Authority Officer – Jane Dauphinee of Municipal Planning Services

CARRIED

17. APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

RES. 165-23 Moved by Mayor Kunyk that Trevor Tychkowsky of Smoky Lake County be appointed as the Director of Emergency Management for the Village. CARRIED

18. DATES FOR REGULAR COUNCIL MEETINGS:

RES. 166-23 Moved by Deputy Mayor Thompson that the Regular Council Meetings be scheduled for the second (2nd) Wednesday of each month, beginning at 5:30 p.m. unless otherwise rescheduled.

19. APPOINTMENT TO BOARDS:

- a. Capital Region Assessment Services Commission: Deputy Mayor Thompson with Councillor Miranda as alternate
- b. Evergreen Regional Waste Commission: Mayor Kunyk with Councillor Miranda as alternate.
- c. Highway 28/63 Regional Water Commission Mayor Kynyk as representative and Deputy Mayor Thompson and Councillor Miranda as alternate.
- d. North East Muni-Corr Ltd.: Deputy Mayor Thompson with Councillor Miranda as alternate.
- e. NE Alberta Hub: Councillor Miranda
- f. Physician Recruitment & Retention Committee: Mayor Kunyk
- g. Public Safety/Disaster Services/RCMP Advisory: Full Council.
- h. Regional Emergency Management Advisory: Councillor Miranda with Deputy Mayor Thompson as 1st alternate and Mayor as 2nd alternate .
- i.. Regional Community Development Committee Councillor Miranda with Mayor Kunyk as alternate
- j. Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework Committee Mayor Kunyk and the CAO to attend.
- **k. Regional Fire and Rescue Committee:** Deputy Mayor Thompson with Councillor Miranda as alternate.

Ι.

m

- Smoky Lake Foundation: Deputy Mayor Thompson, Mayor Kunyk as alternate. Northern Lights Library System and Vilna & District Municipal Library (3
- **n. Memorial Highway:** Deputy Mayor Thompson.

year term): Mayor Kunyk.

- o. Joint Municipalities Full Council and Administration
- **p. Go East of Edmonton**, Tourism Information: Mayor Kunyk
- **q** Northeast Alberta Alliance for Growth and Opportunity: Mayor Kunyk
- **r.. Smoky Lake Community Futures**: Councillor Miranda and Alternate Carol Trider from the Community at Large.
- **RES. 167-23** Moved by Deputy Mayor Tompson that the Board and Committee appointments be approved as indicated above. **CARRIED**
- **RES. 168-23** Moved by Mayor Kunyk that the Village of Vilna withdraw from the Ukrainian Twinning Committee, the Smoky Lake Heritage Board and that the Vilna Cares Society and the Village Centennial Committee be withdrawn as active Committees. CARRIED

20. APPOINTMENTS TO VOLUNTEER BOARDS

- s. Vilna & District Fire Departmen: (Voluntary) Deputy Mayor Thompson
 - Vilna Pool Hall Society (Voluntary) Mayor Kunyk
- u. Vilna & District Agricultural Society (Voluntry) Councillor Miranda
- **RES.169-23** Moved by Deputy Mayor Thompson that the Voluntary Board appointments be approved as indicated above. CARRIED

21. PLANNING AND SUBDIVISION BOARDS

. Subdivision & Development Appeal Board:

RES. 170-23 Moved by Mayor Kunyk that the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board shall be composed of Members-at-Large: Grant Gillund, Christine Hansen, Gary Henry, Amy Cherniwchan, Jerry Melnyk, Sylvia Holowach, Candace Bryks, David Thomas, Margaret Allan Newell, & Pat Olchowy. CARRIED

RES:171-23 22. ADJOURNMENT

t

v.

Mayor Kunyk adjourned the meeting at 7:20 p.m.

Leroy Kunyk, Mayor

SEAL

Earla Wagar, CAO